The Meaning of Karuna

Karuna is a Sanskrit word and is used in Hinduism and Buddhism. It is translated to mean any action that is taken to diminish the suffering of others and could also be translated as “compassionate action.” When individuals experience enlightenment, they report that all beings are known as one. Therefore, it is natural to extend compassionate action or Karuna to everyone without distinction because we are all one. As we help others and aid them in their healing process, all beings benefit. Because of the oneness of all beings, it is understood that Karuna is not only extended to others out of love, but also because it is an entirely logical thing to do. In the same way that you would want to heal your own wounds, you would also want the wounds of others to heal. It is also stated in the Buddhist literature that Karuna must be accompanied by prajna or wisdom in order to have the right effect.

Karuna is the motivating quality of all enlightened beings who are working to end suffering on Earth. They continually send an unlimited amount of healing energy and guidance to us, but not all are receptive to it. As you develop Karuna in yourself, not only are you helping others, but you also become more receptive to the Karuna that is being sent by all enlightened beings. Thus your healing is quickened as well. Karuna Reiki® opens you to work more closely with all enlightened beings. This includes those enlightened ones who are physically present as well as those in spirit.

The Karuna Reiki® Class

It is the next step after Reiki master and is complete with two levels, two attunements, four master symbols and eight treatment symbols. This system has been taught for over 10 years and have found it to be effective and powerful. It provides more healing on the emotional and spiritual levels and also can help one become more grounded. Those who receive the attunements report experiences with their guides, angels, and higher self and feel the healing presence of other enlightened beings.

A brief description of the four Karuna I symbols is given here: The first symbol prepares the client for deep healing and is useful with past life issues. It helps release karma and deeply seated issues on the cellular level. The second symbol heals deeply and can be used to breakup the negative patterns we unconsciously use to insulate ourselves from the truth, thus shattering delusion and denial. It heals the shadow self. The third symbol fills the person with love and restores balance. The fourth symbol completes the treatment by bringing the client back into the body and grounding. The Karuna II symbols are of a higher vibration and more powerful. They help connect directly with the Higher Self and work on a deeper level. While they have specific purposes discussed in class, the experience of their energy allows intuitive guidance in their use.

Both levels of Karuna Reiki® and both attunements will be given as well as instruction and practice on the use of all twelve symbols. You will be able to teach all four levels of Karuna Reiki®, two practitioner levels and two master levels after taking this class.

We will also be doing a Reiki meditation to be aware of and heal the Shadow Self and using chanting and toning with Karuna Reiki®.

A certificate and a 45 page manual is included with in depth descriptions of each symbol and each attunement process.

You will also be offered the opportunity to become a “Registered Karuna Reiki® Master” with The International Center for Reiki Training (“ICRT”). You will then be able to use manuals from the ICRT and your student certificates will come from the ICRT.

Prerequisite: The student has been a Reiki Master for at least 6 months and be able to draw the Reiki II and master symbols from memory.

Duration: 3 days

Fee: HK$10,800*

Instructor: Nerissa (registered Karuna Reiki® teacher with ICRT)

* You will be eligible for discounted prices, HK$9,800 if you have completed Reiki (Usui/Tibetan Style) Level 1, 2, ART and Master Class with Radiant Love Center in the preceding two years.

Practicing and Teaching Karuna Reiki®

The symbols can be used just like other Reiki symbols when giving Reiki treatments. When teaching, you can teach the whole method in one 3 day weekend as discribed above as long as your students are already Reiki Masters. Or Karuna Reiki® can be divided into four levels – two practitioner levels and two Master levels. In level one, the first four symbols from Karuna I are taught, along with the practitioner attunement and time to practice the symbols. In level two, the second four symbols from Karuna II are taught, the attunement for them is given and time is taken to practice. After this the Karuna master level is taught.

(#Karuna Reiki® is a registered trademark of ICRT )

Note: Currently, we only provide Karuna Reiki® class to those who are already Reiki Masters. Also, the classes on our schedule are Karuna Reiki® Master class, if you want to do only Karuna Reiki® I class to experience Karanu Reiki ®, please contact us for special arrangement. Students will receive a different course material which is for Karuna Reiki® I only. Students who have completed Karuna Reiki ® I or I&II and receive ICRT certificate(s), please contact us for your discounted price for Karuna Reiki ® Master class.